Our History and Premierships

Waverley Blues Football & Netball Club History

Mount Waverley, Mount Waverley Burwood & Waverley Football Clubs

The Mount Waverley Football Club (MWFC) was formed in 1925 and first played in red jumpers with a white sash before adopting its familiar navy blue jumpers with the white monogram (similar to today's Carlton jumper). Apart from a brief disbanding in 1929-1935 the club has enjoyed a successful history at the Mount Reserve in Charles Street Mt.Waverley.

MWFC played in the South Eastern Football League and won a premiership in 1964. As the SEFSL grew MWFC played all it's games in it's top Division. The SEFSL became the Southern League and MWFC continued in First Division until 1993.

In 1994 the club merged with the Burwood Football Club, a Second Division Southern League Club. The Mount Waverley Burwood Football Club participated in First Division in the Southern League from 1994 - 1997.

To transport the members of the Mount Waverley Football Club back through the decades to its first season click on the below link from the Waverley Historic Society.


The Waverley Football Club (WFC) was another club steeped in tradition. WFC was formed in 1908 and wore the familiar black & red stripes in the Victorian Football Association (VFA - a fore runner of today's VFL). Waverley Football Club had success in 1965 winning the Division One Premiership in that year. The club played at Central Reserve on the corner of Waverley and Springvale Road during the VFA years. WFC joined the Eastern Football League in 1991 and had moderate success from 1991 until 1998 and played its home games at Columbia Reserve.

Waverley Blues Football Club Inc.

During the 1998 season, the committees of both the Waverley & Mount Waverley Burwood Football Clubs discussed the possibility of joining forces to form a new dynamic club that would represent the Waverley district of the City of Monash. Their first season was in 1999 and the Club didn't have to wait long for success. The Waverley Blues have won Senior Men's premierships in 2000 (Division 4 Eastern Football League), 2005 (Division 4 Eastern Football League), 2008 (Division 3 Football League) and 2022 (Division 3 Eastern Football Netball League). Refer below for a full list of Senior, Reserves, Netball and Junior Premierships. 

The Waverley Blues Football club currently participates in Division 2 in the Eastern Football Netball  League. It's main home ground is still Mt Waverley Reserve, but we also play games at Pinewood. 

Year 2020 was the first year no football was played in Metro Melbourne due to the Coronavirus pandemic, and the 2021 season only had half the games completed. The Club ireturned strongly after the pandemic in 2022 to win two Senior Premierships!

If you'd like to contribute more information about our clubs history we'd love to hear from you: waverleyblues@efnl.org.au 

Female Football & Netball History at Waverley Blues 

In 2016 the club formed its first Netball team that played Friday nights as part of the Eastern Football Netball Leagues start up of a new netball competition. We had immediate success winning the Division 3 Premiership. We currently field a number of teams playing each Friday night and our netball team and players are now a big part of our club and community. 

The Waverley Blues fielded an under 16 Youth Girls side for the first time in season 2016, where we had two players finish 1st (Riley Hall) and 3rd (Amelia van Oosterwijk) in the League Best & Fairest awards.

In 2017 we launched our first ever Senior Women's team with players playing from ages 16 to 35+. Led by inaugural coach Chris Goldstraw the team made it to the Grand Final in their first ever season - an amazing effort for a team that have never played football before.

In 2018 our Women’s team made the Finals again, whilst our u14s girls side also had a successful for season together, with Abbey Cerovac 3rd place in the League best & fairest awards.

In 2019 AFLW Draft we had three ex players drafted.  Gemma Lagioia (pick 8 Western Bulldogs), Amelia van Oosterwijk (pick 62 Western Bulldogs) and Emily Harley (pick 93 Richmond).

In 2022 we had a record 3 junior girls teams, and in 2023 will also field a Senior Women's team.




2022 - Division 3

2000 – Division 4

2005 – Division 4

2008 – Division 3

2022 - Division 3


2022 - Division 3

2009 – Division 2

2010 – Division 2

2014 – Division 2

2015 – Division 2

2022 - Division 3 

Under 19s

2021 - Division 3 (undefeated Minor Premiers in Covid Year)


2016 – Division 3


Under 12s - 2018

Under 13s – 2009 (C), 2018

Under 14s – 2003 (C), 2008 (B), 2017

Under 15s – 2002 (B), 2014 (B)

Under 16s – 2011 (C)

Under 17s – 2016 (A)